Video of Riverside teacher imitating Native Americans ‘highly insulting,’ True Weasel Behavior.

Updated: Jan 8

"This was taken at John W. North high school in Riverside, CA.



Superintendent Renee Hill, the district's first black superintendent, addressed the community at a Riverside Unified School District board meeting Thursday night, Oct. 21, saying "We have an obligation to look at this occurrence clearly and honestly and respond accordingly," she continued. With that, she recognizes the public's anxiety and "demand for urgent action."

She did say, however, that the district must respect the law and give the employee due process "so that our ultimate response is based on sound footing and would not further complicate an already regrettable situation."


According to Hill, Candice Reed's "comments, behaviors, done during class time, were exceedingly demeaning and marginalizing to Native Americans, Indigenous cultures, and others. "Please know that this has our undivided attention...and it will be dealt with as soon as possible."


Diana Meza, a district representative, said she didn't know if the teacher, Candice Reed, who has been identified by the district, would be paid while on administrative leave. The personnel department of Riverside County's second-largest public school system has promised a thorough investigation.


This incident was first brought to light by Instagram user Shadae Johnson, who posted the footage on the platform and stated that "these actions can no longer be swept under the rug." As adults, we must stand up for our youth.




The victim was in his math class yesterday, a Native American student filmed this video, Johnson wrote. "After several minutes of the teacher hooping and tomahawk chopping, the student started filming because he felt violence was being perpetrated against him and he had the right to record."


We must abolish discrimination and violence against indigenous students in schools! In reality, we must hold elected officials and government personnel more accountable for attacks on minorities in general. This is not the 1950s, and while many people still pine for them, it must never be accepted again.


Riverside city and county have grappled with bigotry and criminal corruption among government personnel and elected officials in the past and more recently. We can only hope this time it will not be tolerated. See below contact information for government employees.




School Board Contacts:

Mr. Thomas R. Hunt II

thunt@riversideunified.org


Mr. Brent Lee

blee@riversideunified.org


Dr. Angelo Farooq

afarooq@riversideunified.org


Mrs. Kathy Allavie
kallavie@riversideunified.org


Mr. Dale Kinnear

dkinnear@riversideunified.org


Emartin@riversideunified.org


Principal Jodi Gonzales

jlgonzales@riversideunified.org

Phone (951) 788-7311, ext. 63200


Deputy Superintendent Tim Walker

Email twalker@riversideunified.org


Assistant Superintendent Dr. Ryan Lewis.

Email RLewis@riversideunified.org


Superintendent of RUSD Renee Hill

Email Rhill@riversideunified.org

Phone (951) 788-7131

Phone (951) 788-7311, ext. 63200


Deputy Superintendent Tim Walker

Email twalker@riversideunified.org


Assistant Superintendent Dr. Ryan Lewis.

Email RLewis@riversideunified.org


Superintendent of RUSD Renee Hill

Email Rhill@riversideunified.org

Phone (951) 788-7131